Dr. Edwin Winkel Consultancy

Your Breath is My Concern

Dr. Edwin Winkel

Curriculum Vitae

Edwin Winkel earned his dental degree from the University of Groningen in 1980. In 1983, he received certification from the Dutch Physicians Acupuncture Association (N.A.A.V and N.A.A.S.). The Dutch Society of Periodontology (NVvP) granted him recognition as a periodontist in 1989.

From 1982 to 2002, he served as a lecturer/researcher at the Academic Center for Dentistry Amsterdam (ACTA). His doctoral research in 2000 focused on the microbiological and clinical effects of systemic antimicrobial therapies in severe and refractory periodontitis, titled “The Use of Systemic Antibiotics in Periodontitis Patients.”

Between 2005 to 2018, Dr. Winkel was (part-time) affiliated with the Department of Periodontology at the University Medical Center Groningen. In 2006, he was appointed a Member of Merit of the NVvP, and in 2012, he was appointed professor in special periodontology, particularly in halitosis. With over 70 publications in peer-reviewed scientific journals and books, Edwin Winkel is recognized as a periodontist by the NVvP and an implantologist accredited by the Dutch Association for Oral Implantology (NVOI).

Dr. Winkel is a co-founder (1985) of the Clinic for Periodontology Amsterdam (KvPA) and LabOral. In addition to periodontology and implantology, he initiated a clinic for the diagnosis and treatment of halitosis at the KvPA in 1998.

Extra-Curricular Activities

As a former editorial board member of the Journal de Parodontologie & d’Implantologie Orale and the Journal of Clinical Periodontology (2000-2008), Edwin Winkel is a sought-after speaker, nationally and internationally, in the fields of periodontology, implantology, and halitosis. He served as a board member of the European Federation of Periodontology (EFP) and organized multiple EuroPerio congresses.

In 2016, he received the prestigious EFP Distinguished Service Award. In addition, he served as a board member of the International Society of Breath Odour Research (ISBOR) and was chairman of the International Association for Halitosis Research (IAFHR). In 2023, he was honored as an Honorary Member of the Dutch Society of Periodontology.